Meet Coach Aaron

Coach Aaron McLaurine was born April 16, 1971, in Lima, to Mr. and Mrs. M.C. McLaurine and graduated from Lima Senior High School. Aaron started boxing when he was in elementary school; his big brother would take him outside and throw punches that the then third-grader would block. As he aged, he started going to the Spyder Boxing Club and eventually found his way to the boxing club run by Gary Akers.

Aaron, whose nickname was “Showtime,” won the title of Great Lakes Boxing Federation Super Middleweight Champion on December 12, 2002 when he defeated Toledo’s Darrie “Red Dog” Riley in a bout in Toledo. Aaron fought his first professional bout against Corey Johnson. On Feb. 17, 1995, Aaron was stopped in the ninth round by Roger Mayweather for the International Boxing Organization welterweight title in a fight in Las Vegas. Mayweather is the uncle of Floyd Mayweather and a former two-weight champion. Ten months later, on Dec. 12, 1996, Aaron lost to unbeaten Manny Sobral in a fight for the IBO World Super Welterweight title in Vancouver, B.C.

While continuing his boxing career, Aaron also continued his academic career, eventually earning a Bachelor of Science Degree in Electronic Engineering Technologies from  Bowling Green Sate University to go with a two year technical degree in Electronic Engineering  from Lima Technical College (now Rhodes State University).

Since retiring, Aaron has passed his passion on to a new generation through his Soldiers of Honor Boxing program he operates out of his New Look Fitness Gym, 117 S. Union St.

“Boxing not only keeps kids off the streets but it gives them goal to work toward,” says Coach Aaron, who also uses that time to teach children about life so they become productive members of society.

Coach Aaron’s Career at a Glance

  • More than 35 years of experience
  • Ranked # 32 in the World.
  • Ranked # 3 in State of Ohio.
  • Fought for 3 world titles.
  • Fought  3 Times on USA Friday Night Fights.
  • Won GLBF Championship.
  • Fought world ranked contenders including Roger Mayweather.